tuluum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shopping Trip

Well I'm so happy to have a digicam that I'm carrying it everywhere. I used to be a real picture taking whore in high school (before I had to pay to develop my own film :P). Now I can revisit those days. Starting from now! Yup! You get to experience all the wonder and minutiae of my life.... Whee :P

Well as some of you all know Shabbat starts this evening. I needed to get some mushrooms and other things for tonight's meal so I hitched a ride to the supermarket with my Dad (on his way to the bank) to get those items...


The Supermarket


mmmmmm COCK... (oh open up baby, you know you wanna taste!)


Hungry yet? :P


OK chicken feet are just NASTY!


OKIE I got what I came for (whipping cream, rum n raisin chocolate, spaghetti and musssssshrooooooms) :)


See that guy in red? He's putting away the groceries (in the cart thingy) for the people at the front. Here in Trinidad designated guys (usually always guys) bag your groceries and carry them out for you. You can tip them if you want to but it's not mandatory. (I do though). This was a big adjustment for me when I went to the States. Bag and carry my own groceries? How primitive!!! :O

At this point my father was still not back from the bank so I strolled to the next door shopping center.

First I passed a fruit vendor:


Papaws (what foreigners call papaya), bananas, watermelons, pineapples, oranges, and mangoes....


Then I noticed a poster in Subway featuring local 'celeb' Wendy Fitzwilliam (Miss Universe 1998). She seems to endorse everything! :P I wonder if the local Subway chain also has the Atkins friendly menu? I doubt it :(

Still no father to be found... I went back to the supermarket car park and took some pics of the flowers that grow there...


In the above pic the small red flowers are called exoras (sp?). They have a sweet nectar that I used to enjoy tasting as a kid. You pick the flower and suck on the flower stem. It's hollow like a straw. You gotta pick a lot to get any good amount though, and some are not as sweet as others :( I remember when playing we would go "ah got ah sweet one!" "Yeah boy? This one wasn't sweet at all!" hahah ... the folly of youth!! :P (or something)


hey... it's a random police vehicle.. Notice the Magen David (Star of David)? It's the symbol of the local police force. Interesting no? :) There's a story behind that :) Kinda funny though cos when I went to America to study and I saw a girl with a Star of David around her neck I thought it would be rude to ask if she was a Jew so I asked if her father was a cop. She looked at me like I was off my rocker! When I said "the star around your neck, it means police no?" At this point I think she started to get offended. I didn't know how to salvage that one :D


OK my father was taking too long and I was getting hungry. I went in and bought some local candies (how diet conscious of me) :P At the top is a bag of khurma (hard fried ginger dough covered in powdered sugar), a Lunch bar and a Bonanza for my mom.

At this point my father pulled up and it was time to go home and start cooking!!! :D

King of Pain (Acoustic) - Alanis Morissette

5:22 p.m. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bildschoen
chasha
fadein
ddrboy
monfisch
pischina
JWINOKUR
ellahart
alien-he
doctoredjnr
scarydoll
adamexe
Steveward
trancejen
unclebob
shutupmom
hodgson
panjandrum
realjesus
discothekid
sera1231
ravenheart
banana3159
tuff517
sullen-grrrl
qoheleth
babygyrl02
science-girl
sars-the-cat
dark-solace
regz
signomifly
lasvegasliz