tuluum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ALL IS FULL OF LOVE :)

Currently Reading: Trees, Earth, and Torah: A Tu B'Shevat Anthology

Currently Listening To: A Change - Sheryl Crow
(thanks 2 TranceJen!!! :))

(this first bit was actually written last night but I conked out before I could upload it)

Ahh yes :D Just woke up from a refreshing catnap :) I should turn in soon again though cos I'm really trying to get my sleep schedule back on track! Today I worked out for the first time in weeks. It was good to get that sense of accomplishment again.

I totally forgot to mention that I received a rockin e*wax -double cd- collection from Bob on Friday :) It contained Björk, Sleater-Kinney, Julie Ruin, Pizzicato Five, The White Stripes, Chicks On Speed, Basement Jaxx, Ani Di Franco and ooooooodles more. This is one awesome soundscape from an even more awesome young boy on the cusp of MANHOOD!!! :P (hehehe)

He also made me an S&M whip out of electrical and duct tapes. Quite alarming! it's even autographed! I'm gonna put it up on my wall, but which one? Hmmm... ;) Also in the package were some nice letters and a Halloween safety booklet. Boy was the latter sinister! It was full of cheesy puns and talk of kids with "bags of booty". Which just doesn't sound right anymore, does it ;)

My interview with that college applicant went really well. She had a very personable attitude which really can turn an interview around. I became excited again, which is good cos my heart was not in it in the beginning. I was exhausted and sniffly! We chatted for about 90 minutes and I will write up my evaluation in the next few days and upload it to the Admissions Committee.

In other Smith related news, the 2003 calendar arrived today as did a FOOD issue of the Smith Alumnae Quarterly. Immediately I thought about Lynn and wondered what she thought about the personal chef route? I predict great things on the culinary front for that girl :) I was also psyched to see that college memorabilia is now on sale at the Smith E-Store. Woot!


(now on to today....)

Let's see, I woke up on time (yay!), worked out, did my real work, did some cleaning bla bla bla .. and then around 3:50pm up drives the TTPost courier van!! :D Yay packages :) I had really only expected one thing though :) Instead I got three :) One was the latest issue of Jane (who win the award for being the magazine to most quickly start using my new address), my "New Inside" Tiffany CD (around which revolved the French Fiasco which I am yet to post on and will do so below :)) and and and.. and a TRANCETASTIC LOVE PACKAGE :D from TranceJen :) She made me a rocking Chicks CD, the most BEAUTIFUL necklace :) and once I get a scanner you will see the most wondrous H.L. Monkey rendition that she created :D She also included pics of herself and her son that have joined my Wall of Love :)

What is my Wall of Love? Well it occured to me that when I lived in the US I always stuck pictures of my friends and their cards on a designated wall. It was a way to remind myself that I was not alone. Then this morning i thought, why not create a Wall of Love here? So I did :) Up went Justin's horsetesticles pix, Adamexe's postcard, Jonathan's Queen of Hearts card, and now Trancey's pics !! :) Yay for LOVE :D

so... what was my French Fiasco? (I know that Bob is curious to know :))

Well... about 2 months ago I bid on ebay for mint condition copys of the out of print Tiffany CDs "Hold an old Friend's Hand" and "New Inside". When the package arrived but only one CD was included. I promptly emailed the seller/store in Montreal, Canada.

From: "Nicole"

Sent: Thursday, December 19, 2002 12:01 PM

Subject: Missing Item

The second CD "New Inside" was not in the package. I paid for

shipping on both. Please respond.

Sincerely,

Nicole

I then sat back and waited for their response. About an hour later it arrived.

Est-ce que tu lui as répondu on a le cd chez Serge ?

aaah oh i see... it's the old French "we no speeky l'english" game. Been there played that homey.

An expert on beating the French at their own game I fired back an equally speedy reply!

From: Nicole

Date: Fri Dec 20, 2002 3:09:34 PM America/Caracas

Subject: Re: Missing Item

Je suis désolée mais je ne parle pas beaucoup Français. J'ai payée 2

CD. Seulement un a été (Hold an Old Friends Hand) expédié à moi

I then leaned back. Picturing Jean-Luc and Francois' smug smirks turning to bummer. The ol French Reply scam wasn't gonna work this time! I swear to you within 5 minutes the reply came!

Hello Nicole,

We are very sorry for this mistake. We will prepare an envelope right away

and send it to you today.

Again, sorry...

Happy Holidays :)

Thank you very much,

Stéphane

Oh! We Speak ENGLISH NOW do we Stéphane?. I THINK NOT!!

Aw yeah. Translate THIS FRENCHY! One more parting shot for the road!

Merci Beaucoup et Joyeaux Noel : ) !!!

Nicole

FUNNY FRENCHIES :P

****************************************************************************

CLIX IF YOU KNEW THAT THE SEETHER WAS LOUISE !! :)

Current Clix Ranking: 47 | Previous Clix Ranking: 54

5:35 p.m. - Tuesday, Jan. 07, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bildschoen
chasha
fadein
ddrboy
monfisch
pischina
JWINOKUR
ellahart
alien-he
doctoredjnr
scarydoll
adamexe
Steveward
trancejen
unclebob
shutupmom
hodgson
panjandrum
realjesus
discothekid
sera1231
ravenheart
banana3159
tuff517
sullen-grrrl
qoheleth
babygyrl02
science-girl
sars-the-cat
dark-solace
regz
signomifly
lasvegasliz