tuluum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TGI... Shabbat!

Interpretation:

This is a day for relaxing. I am finally (again) balanced financially and emotionally. I should count my blessings today, and go over my responsibilites to make sure things stay on track :) Making a donation to a charity wouldn't hurt either :) (Subconscious: The Fool)


Things change in the blink of an eye. A friend of a friend of the DP was strangled/murdered yesterday... 18 years old.. senseless.. Needless to say our meeting was deferred. The fragility of life is so sobering..

We're gonna go out tomorrow night and then meet up on Sunday afternoon, which I think is a better arrangement anyway.

Ooooo. the TTPOST man is here! I gotta tell ya, I have the hots for that Chinese man! I dunno what it is.. I wouldn't give him a glance in ordinary circumstances.. I think it's the little sexy red, white and black uniform :) Lala thinks it's cos he comes bringing toys :D Either way, I wanna give -his- Jet Li a fighting chance if ya know what I'm saying! (wink wink nudge nudge)

So yesterday... sadness notwithstanding.. was the first time that the DP and I have talked offline. He sounds really nice actually. Much nicer than he comes across online :) I told him so as well. Rowr!

Talking about ROWR! Last night was the first impromptu e*wax chatroom lime. It was a riot! Bob, Kim, Jonathan, Richard, Blue all showed up :)

Last night Carl and I also talked more about the project that we are working on. He will be going to the Panama conference without me so I told him to bring back a postcard :) I sure do love me postcards :D

I really should go downstairs to see what the delivery guy brought but I don't want to go downstairs until I am dressed and ready to shop for Shabbat :) Today I am making pasta with tomatoes, tofu and broccoli .. with a green bean, tomato and feta cheese salad :) I may or may not be able to afford to make challah this time around.. so if anything I'll just buy a white bread plaited load from Hi-Lo's bakery.

What else to say?... well.. I had another traumatic dream. Burning fields outside my window, my father hitting me and tearing up my posters in a fit of manic rage, me running off to Smith (again).. but all the dorms were haunted.. and at night the sky turned blood red as the town turned black...

My eyes keep closing.. I'm so tired...

Rest will have to wait until tonight though.. hmm.. would be nice to see if I could afford some wine as well.. if not grape juice will have to suffice.. Time to make kiddush again...


Shabbat Shalom Chaverim!


by now everyone knows Nell Carter passed away yesterday.. but how many of you knew she was Jewish? :D

Jewhoo.com :

Nell Carter Dies at Age 54

.

Nell Carter - African-American actress and singer who starred in the hit

1980s TV series, "Gimee Me A Break". Carter first become well known with her

starring role in the 1978 hit musical, "Ain't Misbehavin". This role earned

her a Tony. She was a big hit in the most recent "Annie" revival on

Broadway. In case the following linked "Jewish" profile 'expires'---we will

highlight a few points.

Nell Carter was born in Birmingham, Alabama in 1948.

Ms. Carter was not born Jewish, but became interested in Judaism at age 12.

She made a study of various religions and married an Orthodox Jewish man in

the mid-1980s. She converted after they married. However, she says she did

not convert because of the marriage. The couple had two sons together. (Ms.

Carter has a daughter from a previous marriage). Ms. Carter is still very

much an active member of the Jewish community notwithstanding the fact that

she and her Jewish husband have divorced. She says, "The press, for some

reason, will not acknowledge that there are black Jews, there are Jews in

Egypt. There are Jews in lots of Arab countries. There are Ethiopian Jews,

there are Jews in Africa, there are Jews everywhere." Update January 2003:

Nell Carter, as most people have heard, died on January 23, 2002, of natural

causes. Last September, Ms. Carter was one of several Jewish celebrities who

appeared on a portion of a "Yom Kippur" service that was held in Los Angeles

and was broadcast on the Hallmark Channel. She recited a brief prayer. She

will be missed. We will add a link to an obituary by the end of January.

Carter Speaks About Being Jewish Career Bio

(not sure of the accuracy of all of the information. It was my understanding

that Nell Carter adopted her sons)

****************************************************************************

CLIX ME!

Current Clix Ranking: ? | Previous Clix Ranking: 31

9:35 p.m. - Friday, Jan. 24, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bildschoen
chasha
fadein
ddrboy
monfisch
pischina
JWINOKUR
ellahart
alien-he
doctoredjnr
scarydoll
adamexe
Steveward
trancejen
unclebob
shutupmom
hodgson
panjandrum
realjesus
discothekid
sera1231
ravenheart
banana3159
tuff517
sullen-grrrl
qoheleth
babygyrl02
science-girl
sars-the-cat
dark-solace
regz
signomifly
lasvegasliz