tuluum's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Know Nothing (poem)

I Know Nothing

by Malka Heifetz Tussman

translated from the Yiddish by Marcia Falk

From "Trees, Earth and Torah: A Tu B'Shevat Anthology"

Piously to embrace the tree,

to rest my cheek on the brown bark,

to breathe, and to be quiet.

It's sad and good

in the rustle of branches.

In the swish of leaves, I say:

Here it's still.

In the spill of blossoms,

my thoughts are mild,

tranquil.

But whether trees praise G-d

with the light of white petals -

this I don't know.

I don't know when they cry,

I don't know when they laugh,

I know nothing about such things.

****************************************************************************

CLIX ME HIGHER!

Current Clix Ranking: 66 | Previous Clix Ranking: 22

10:22 p.m. - Saturday, Feb. 08, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

bildschoen
chasha
fadein
ddrboy
monfisch
pischina
JWINOKUR
ellahart
alien-he
doctoredjnr
scarydoll
adamexe
Steveward
trancejen
unclebob
shutupmom
hodgson
panjandrum
realjesus
discothekid
sera1231
ravenheart
banana3159
tuff517
sullen-grrrl
qoheleth
babygyrl02
science-girl
sars-the-cat
dark-solace
regz
signomifly
lasvegasliz